Todd Klein header
Home Tab
Lettering Tab
Logos Tab
Design Tab
How To Tab
Writing Tab
Art Tab
Music Tab
About Me Tab
News Tab
Contact Tab
Books Tab
Photos Tab
Links Tab
Buy Stuff Tab

Comic Book Awards for Todd Klein lettering

Eisner Awards


Begun in 1988, named in honor of Will Eisner, for work in the previous year

1993: Winner for Sandman, The Demon (DC Comics)

1994: Winner for The Shadow (Dark Horse) Sandman, The Demon,

Jonah Hex: Two Gun Mojo, Dark Joker: The Wild, Hellblazer (DC Comics)

1995: Winner for Batman Vs. Predator II (DC/Dark Horse), The Demon,

Sandman (DC Comics), Uncle Scrooge (Gladstone Comics)

1997: Winner for Sandman, Death: The Time of Your Life, House of Secrets,

The Dreaming, Batman, The Spectre, Kingdom Come (DC)

1998: Winner for Batman, Batman: Poison Ivy, The Dreaming, House of Secrets,

The Invisibles, U.S. (DC), Uncle Scrooge Adventures (Gladstone)

Castle Waiting (Olio)

1999: Winner for Castle Waiting (Olio), House of Secrets, The Invisibles,

The Dreaming, etc. (DC)

2000: Winner for Promethea, Tom Strong, Tomorrow Stories, Top 10 (ABC),

The Dreaming, Gifts of the Night, The Invisibles, Sandman Presents: Lucifer (DC)

2001: Winner for Promethea, Tom Strong, Tomorrow Stories, Top 10 (ABC),

The Invisibles, The Dreaming (DC), Castle Waiting (Cartoon Books)

2002: Winner for Promethea, Tom Strong's Terrific Tales, Tomorrow Stories,

Top 10, Greyshirt (ABC), The Sandman Presents: Everything You Always Wanted

To Know About Dreams But Were Afraid To Ask, Detective Comics, The Dark

Knight Strikes Again (DC), Castle Waiting (Olio), Universe X (Marvel)

2003: Winner for The Dark Knight Strikes Again, Detective Comics, Wonder

Woman: The Hiketeia, Fables, Human Target: Final Cut (DC), Promethea,

Tom Strong (ABC), Castle Waiting (Olio)

2004: Winner for Detective Comics, Fables, Sandman: Endless Nights (DC),

Tom Strong, Promethea (ABC), 1602 (Marvel)

2005: Winner for Promethea, Tom Strong, Tom Strong's Terrific Tales (ABC),

Wonder Woman, Books of Magick: Life During Wartime, Fables, WE3 (DC),

Creatures of the Night (Dark Horse)

2006: Winner for Wonder Woman, Justice, Seven Soldiers of Victory #0 (DC),

Desolation Jones (WildStorm/DC), Promethea, Top 10: The Forty-Niners,

Tomorrow Stories Special (ABC), Fables (Vertigo/DC), 1602: New World (Marvel)

2007: Winner for Fables, Jack of Fables, Fables: 1001 Nights of Snowfall,

Pride of Baghdad, Testament (Vertigo/DC), Fantastic Four: 1602, Eternals

(Marvel) and Lost Girls (Top Shelf)

2008: Winner for Justice, Simon Dark (DC); Fables, Jack of Fables, Crossing

Midnight (Vertigo/DC); League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Black Dossier

(WildStorm/DC); Nexus (Rude Dude)

2011: Winner for Fables, The Unwritten, Joe the Barbarian, iZombie (Vertigo/DC),

Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom (WildStorm/DC), SHIELD (Marvel),

Driver for the Dead (Radical)

2015: Nominated for Fables, The Sandman: Overture, The Unwritten (Vertigo/DC),

Nemo: The Roses of Berlin (Top Shelf)

2017: Winner for Clean Room, Dark Night, Lucifer (DC) and Black Hammer (Dark Horse)

2019: Winner for Black Hammer: Age of Doom, Neil Gaiman's A Study in Emerald (Dark Horse)

Batman: White Knight (DC); Eternity Girl, Books of Magic (Vertigo/DC),

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Tempest (Top Shelf/IDW)

2023: Nominated for Chivalry (Dark Horse); Fables (DC);

Miracleman by Gaiman & Buckingham: The Silver Age (Marvel)


Guinness Certificate

Presented to me at the San Diego Comicon by Guinness editor-in-chief Craig Glenday.

Now incorrect (I've won 18!)



Given by the staff of the Comic-Con International in San Diego for lifetime achievement,

usually to the convention's special guests, of which I was one in 2008,

the year I received this handsome award.


Harvey Awards


Begun in 1988, named in honor of Harvey Kurtzman, for work in the previous year

1989: Nominated for Black Orchid (DC Comics)

1990: Nominated for Sandman (DC Comics)

1991: Nominated for Sandman (DC Comics)

1992: Winner for Sandman (DC Comics)

1993: Winner for Sandman (DC Comics)

1994: Nominated for Sandman (DC Comics)

1995: Winner for Sandman (DC Comics)

1996: Nominated for Sandman (DC Comics)

1997: Nominated for Kingdom Come (DC Comics)

1998: Winner for body of work, including Ka-Zar (Marvel),

Castle Waiting (Olio Press) and U.S. (DC Comics)

1999: Winner for body of work, including House of Secrets (DC)

and Captain America (Marvel)

2001: Winner for Castle Waiting (Cartoon Books)

2003: Winner for Promethea (ABC/DC Comics)

2004: Nominated for Promethea (ABC/DC Comics)

2005: Winner for Wonder Woman (DC Comics)

2006: Nominated for 1602: New World (Marvel Comics)

2012: Nominated for S.H.I.E.L.D.: Architects of Forever (Marvel Comics)

2013: Winner for Fables (DC Comics)



Also known as the 'Ringo Awards

2017: Winner for Best Letterer

2018: Winner for Best Letterer

2019: Winner for Best Letterer 

2023: Nominated for Best Letterer


CBFG Fan Award


Begun in 1982, votes by readers for favorite based on work in the listed year

Note that in some years the award shows the year given, not the year below.

1991: Second place

1992: Second place

1993: Second place

1994: Winner

1995: Second place

1996: Second place

1997: Second place

1998: Second place

1999: Winner

1999: Winner, Favorite of the Century

2000: Winner

2001: Winner

2002: Tie for first place with Richard Starkings & Comicraft

2003: Second place

2006: Tie for second place, with Richard Starkings & Comicraft

2008 (given in 2009): Winner

2010: Winner

2011: Nominated

2012: Nominated


Thunderbolt Award


Online GEnie Comics and Animation forum award, voted by members

1992: Winner

1994: Winner, tie with Tom Orzechowski

1996: Winner


Don Thompson Award


Online Compuserve Comics and Animation Forum award, voted by members

1996: Winner

1999: Winner


Squiddies Awards


Online Rec.arts.comics forum award, voted by members

1993: Winner

1994: Winner

1995: Winner

1998: Second place

1999: Winner

2000: Winner

2001: Second place

2002: Winner

2003: Winner


Eagle Award


British comics awards for fan favorite work, open to all online voters.

2005: Winner

2006: Nominated for Eternals (Marvel) and Lost Girls (Top Shelf)

2007: Nominated

2010: Winner

2012: Nominated


Nominations for Publication Design


Eisner Design Certificate

2004: The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen: The Absolute Edition, Vol. 1 (ABC)

designed by Todd Klein, Alex Sinclair and Larry Berry

2006: Promethea #32 (ABC) designed by J.H. Williams III and Todd Klein

2011: Return of the Dapper Men (Archaia) designed by Todd Klein